Before Watchmen: Nite-Owl

by deerinthexenonarclights

Hurm.

I tried to be objective during the lead up to these books, never barking lines of outrage but never fully buying into DC’s depiction of the hype either; I just wanted to read the books before I made up my mind. So far I would say that the actual comics have found themselves in an almost identical position, sitting strongly in the middle of the field: providing pro’s for those with a positive outlook and faults for those more negative few. They’re not going to blow anyone away but nor are they a travesty, a stain on the name of a masterpiece. That was until Before Watchmen: Nite-Owl.

This book proves the points of all the pessimistic haters: it repeats points covered clearly in the original text, it also somehow manages to make them more generic – casting Nite Owl less of a subversion than a simulacrum of Batman – and worst of all fails to tell a truly interesting story of its own right. Does this mean that the series as a whole should stop? That we should boycott or burn the books in the streets? No, of course not. The other books in the Before Watchmen line will still be good, I honestly believe that the best is yet to come for most of them, but I just wouldn’t recommend buying this one, even if you are a completionist.

Hurm.

