Trailer Trash: Keeping ‘The Iceman’ Company

by deerinthexenonarclights

Two completely different trailers for two completely different looking films that both had the same effect on me: Michael Shannon’s The Iceman and Robert Redford’s The Company You Keep. Check em out, with some commentary, after the jump:

There are a slate of stunning looking crime films set to hit between now and the end of the year (Gangster Squad, Killing Them Softly, Lawless) and if this trailer is anything to go by the trend should continue well into the start of 2013. The Iceman actually debuted last night in Venice and early reports are still coming in, but us nobodies are only just now getting the trailer and damn if it doesn’t make me a little tempted to fly to Italy and catch the second session:

Based on that cast alone I would want to see the movie, but the fact that it looks to be a slick and serious suspense/slaughterfest makes me all the more excited.  Michael Shannon is a very specific kind of character actor and while this isn’t normally what I would describe as his niche he nails it in the trailer: cold, calculated and cool. Throw the resurrection of Winona Ryder, a cooky turn by Chris Evans and cameos from Liotta, Franco and Del Toro into that frenetic mix and you’ve got me on board.

My only worry is that Director/Writer Ariel Vromen might not be up to the job: Kuklinski’s story is set over twenty years and from the few short documentaries I’ve seen on the man his tale is a convoluted one full of twists and turns; perfect for a film perhaps but it’s going to be difficult to mesh the family man, hit-man and man on the run from the mob tales together in one hundred and twenty minutes, while also allowing for all of the awesome action that the trailer suggests. I just hope that he’s up to it.

The second trailer that caught my eye today was for The Company You Keep, the latest in Robert Redford’s political pieces. Unlike his last film, The Conspirator, Company is not a period piece but it is still set around events from the past – specifically The Weathermen or Weather Underground as they are now known – and uses these to comment on the contemporary state of affairs – specifically the Tea Party, I would imagine. Strikingly though the film isn’t only set in the modern day but looks like it might even appeal to a modern day audience thanks to its young lead and action scenes, while The Conspirator knocked out cold anyone under the age of eighty. Watching this won’t put you to sleep:

Centering the story around the political revolution of the sixties and having a reporter as the star standing besides Redford means that this movie will of course be compared to All The President’s Men and while it probably won’t be anywhere as good as that it is nevertheless good to see that kind of movie still being made. Is Shia LaBeouf the best choice for the lead? I’m not sure, I don’t dislike him as much as most serious moviegoers and do want to give his apparent ‘serious streak’ a chance since quitting Hollywood was a bold move, but we’ll have to wait and see how he does here, in Lawless and Lars Von Trier’s Nymphomaniac before I can say either way.

Of course the cast here is also excellent – Redford himself is co-starring with a whole long list of other esteemed and venerable actors turning in supporting performances – and again it is the director that I am most worried about. Redford can and has made some great movies behind the camera but all of his modern efforts have been stilted and preach to the audience harder than Clint Eastwood does a chair. I’d love to see him turn in a tight and tense journalistic thriller with some contemporary resonance but I fear that it will instead be a sermon with a scattering of slow action thrown in for the sake of it. On this though I hope that I am wrong and the fact that Lem Dobbs is on script duty leaves me a little bit hopeful.

 

And while it’s old now I still love watching this trailer, which speaks for itself really:

Thoughts on either?

