Snapshot #1

Snapshot

In my review of this week’s revitalised Green Arrow I spoke about following writers that I was a fan of, with Snap I did something as similar as it is different, I did something new for me, I followed an artist: Jock. This is a creator owned series – the other creator in question is writer Andy Diggle – and not a superhero book and so when I say that I knew nothing of the story going in I mean nothing; and given where the issue goes i would argue that this is advisable, so I’m going to start this review with my closing summary.

Snapshot #1 is the start of a charming and suspenseful thriller series and while it is the mateship that makes each page so pleasant to read its the mystery that keeps you turning them and turning them back after you reach the dreaded back cover. So if you haven’t read the issue definitely do so before you continue further into this review. Whether you do so on my recommendation, the authors or the artists is irrelevant; just be sure to skim through a copy by weeks end because this is a book that people are going to be talking about and its a smartly told story besides.
Read the rest of this entry »

Green Arrow #17

green arrow

Don’t let the double digit number in the title put you off, this is the first Green Arrow book that I have ever read and so there is no necessity that you be a fan of the man or familiar with his mythology to be interested in this issue. Why am I starting to read his story here and now, of all possible places? Conventional wisdom would suggest that it has something to do with the CW’s Arrow, that after adoring the characters adventures there I have come to his roots here for another hit; this though is not the case. If perchance you were someone tempted to do what I just spoke I would blindly suggest trying the book that shares the shows name rather than the core comic since DC seemingly haven’t changed the character to match up with the other medium. What they have done though, and what caught my eye on this comic, is change the creative team to contain a name that calls to me like a siren song: Jeff Lemire.

Read the rest of this entry »